Learn From MY Mistakes

To make an accurate account of all of my mistakes, I would have to write a seriously dense memoir. But, since I’m just your friendly neighborhood blogger, here is a lighthearted account of just a few things that I now know to do differently. It’s like my mom always says, “Every lesson I’ve ever learned, I’ve learned the hard way.” I like to think that I have had a similar experience, and for that, I am proud ;)

Here is my list-

12. I’ve noticed a backwards fact about people- When you resist someone, you draw them to yourself. When you chase someone, (hopefully we are mutually thinking in hypotheticals) they run away. The key I’ve finally noticed is to remain pleasantly indifferent. There hasn’t been a single time in my life that chasing a person for attention has ever gained me anything more than hilarious stories of rejection to tell my friends.

11. Sigh. I have learned from previous mooching/carelessness to respect my roommate’s things. I’ve learned that if you don’t respect their things, that they will most certainly resent you- and their feeling will be justified.

10. Try, try, and try again to only speak well of others. In most of the instances where I have bad-mouthed someone, it usually meant that I had an inadequacy I was not addressing. When I concentrate on eliminating shit-talk from my mouth I like to think of it (in the vast realm that is Karma) as one less negative thing said about me.

9. Quick Fact- I spent my whole life until last year having terrible posture. I didn’t just slump, I was the girl who walked with her head towards the ground, eyes down, and her entire body crouched inward. I don’t know what changed, but sometime randomly in the scheme of things I slowly began carrying myself proudly. Now, instead of just walking, I have a little swag, just a little, but dammit it feels pretty good. It definitely feels better than gazing into the depths of the ever mysterious…sidewalk.

8. If you don’t find it too nauseating, take baths with candles. I can’t BELIEVE I went twenty years without ever trying it. Now, i’m the candle queen and the bathtub is my castle. There is nothing more soothing than laying around with those dim, musky smelling candles burning in my peripheral.

7. If you notice yourself saying things like, “I need to work out” or “I feel like I look fat,” then it is time to get to the gym. Last semester I was 10 pounds too heavy, and sure, in the grand scheme of life, what is 10 pounds really? Well, to me it was more than I was comfortable to look at. I started referring to myself as “thick” and after months of complaining and trying to conceal my fluffier places, I started working out.  Oh and by the way, for any of you who aren’t afraid to experience hell on earth, I recommend the Stair Master. If that’s too intense, the elliptical aka: old faithful, is always close by :)

6. If you are in a relationship where your significant other hates all of your friends, run away as fast as you can and don’t look back. It means they want you all to themselves, and not in a good way.

5. Resist the urge to ask others what they think of you. It only makes you look like you don’t know who you are, and gives others an open window to voice opinions that may impact your view of yourself. As the saying goes, “What others think of you is none of your business.”

4. I spent way too long eating too much, for lack of a better word, shit. I say “shit” by the way,  because I despise the word “junk.”  Anyway, It is true that we are composed of what we have eaten, and I recently decided that I don’t want to be made of a combination of cheeseburgers, pizza, and fried chicken wings, just to name a few. Now, I take pride in ordering my sandwich from Subway on whole wheat bread. Would you like mayonnaise on that? Nah, i’ll take the light mayo. Jalapenos? Hell no, too damn spicy.

3. When someone befriends you and you notice that they go through friends like money flying out of Lil Waynes hands at the stripclub, then don’t give that person much of your energy. In the end, which will not be far from the beginning, it will leave you with one less friend.

2. Procrastinating on homework assignments usually turns out fine. Procrastinating on things like calling your grandparents, meeting up with a dear friend, and mailing an important letter, usually end up with someone feeling let down by you. Too many birthdays have I failed to mail a simple card. This is one mistake, I can’t laugh about.

1. Lastly, I leave you with this- Do not tolerate anyone who is reckless with your heart, for It is without a doubt the most precious commodity you have <3

2 responses

  1. this was well writtin…so glad you are proud of your beautiful body…i forced your mother to have good posture and it has worked for hers…stand tall, be happy and you are loved..me mere

Leave a Reply

