A Letter to Mom

Mom,

From witnessing my first steps to assisting me with all the rest, it seems the work of a Mom is comparable to being on call 24/7. Mom, I don’t know if it is really possible for me to thank you for all the things you have done for me. From deciding to give birth to me, to working 70 hours a week as a single mom, to finding Dad for us, to paying for everything for a fourth of my life (with Dad’s help of course!),  and somehow not disowning me during my teenage years, it seems that you have done more for me than anyone else ever has or could.

It is hard to imagine taking the position of a mom: Unpaid with no tangible benefits except for a child that hopefully appreciates you. Well, I’m glad that I get to be your daughter, because you are probably the coolest and most exceptional mom I could ask for. I want you to know that I appreciate you both as a mother and just as a person. You’re down to earth enough to hang with my friends, you’re beautiful enough to reassure my boyfriends that if they marry me I’ll become even prettier, you’re strong enough to work for what you want and deserve, and most importantly, you are gutsy enough to push me to be the best I can be. Some people have a mom that accepts and praises everything their child does- but not me. I have a mom who gives me credit when its deserved, sometimes just cause I want it, but always staying true by always reminding me what I’m capable of. You are so beautiful and you have touched the lives of so many people by always being kind and honest with others. You are constantly growing by helping others do the same.

I have two words for you that I think you and most moms should hear more of: Thank you. Thank you so much, not just for one specific thing, but for everything, because if it weren’t for you, I would be nothing.

Love you to the sky and back,

Rachel

P.s I know you love quotes, so here’ s one I think you’ll like :)

“An ounce of practice is worth more than tons of preaching.” -Gandhi —-Made me think of you always say to “Walk the Walk” :) Love you.

Image

Leave a Reply

